ITSqc Logo
| site map | contact us | English Français Español Português Italiana Deutsch Nederlands

« back

Nipuna - World's First eSCM Level 4 Certified BPO Service Provider

for information:

Jeff Perdue
Director, ITSqc

Bangalore, India , September 29, 2005 - Nipuna Services Limited, one of India's leading Business Process Outsourcing (BPO) service providers, has become the world's first BPO services company to achieve eSCM-SP Capability Level 4 Certification (eSourcing Capability Model for Service Providers). eSCM-SP has been developed
by the globally reputed IT Services Qualification Center (ITSqc) at Carnegie Mellon University.

Nipuna has the unique distinction of being the first global BPO Company to be certified at eSCM-SP Capability
Level 4 across all processes in three services (Transaction Processing, Customer Contact, and Engineering Services) at their Hyderabad and Bangalore locations. eSCM-SP Capability Level 4 is the highest certification any organization can achieve at the first attempt. An ITSqc-authorized organization (Underwriters Laboratories) conducted the eSCM-SP Evaluation for Certification over a period of four weeks.

eSCM-SP is a quality model applicable to the entire BPO spectrum. eSCM-SP gives prospective clients a guide to evaluate, select and monitor service providers based on their eSCM-SP level of certification and Practice Satisfaction Profile.

"Being the first global BPO services company in the world to achieve eSCM's highest initial level of certification is representative of our total focus on high quality processes. As people and quality processes touch everything we do, it assures customers, on time and on budget service deliveries regardless of size and complexity. This certification would certainly provide a higher level of communication and trust between the outsourcer and the client that is vital in the rapidly changing BPO industry," said Venkatesh Roddam, CEO, Nipuna.

"Certification at Capability Level 4 of eSCM is a tribute to all employees in Nipuna who have played a critical role in successfully driving quality processes in the organization with pride and passion. This certification is dedicated to every employee of Nipuna who made this possible," said Kishore Rao, Head - Quality, Nipuna.

In order to be certified for eSCM-SP, a service provider needs to demonstrate its capabilities across 10 different areas: knowledge management, people management, performance management, relationship management, threat management, technology management, contracting, service design & deployment, service delivery and service transfer. The model has over 1,200 requirements that are used as the basis for evaluation, with Carnegie Mellon's IT Services Qualification Center making the final decision as to certification.

About ITSqc
The ITSqc in Carnegie Mellon's School of Computer Science has a mission to address the emerging need for capability models and qualification methods for organizations involved in the evolving Internet economy. ITSqc's Research Consortium involves leading international corporate, government and academic entities in the development of the Capability Models.

About Carnegie Mellon
Carnegie Mellon is a private research university with a distinctive mix of programs in engineering, computer science, robotics, business, public policy, fine arts, and the humanities. More than 10,000 undergraduate and graduate students receive an education characterized by its focus on creating and implementing solutions for real problems, interdisciplinary collaboration, and innovation. Carnegie Mellon has contributed to the development and use of several quality standards, such as eSCM-SP, eSCM-CL, CMMI®, SW-CMM® and People CMM®. For more information, see

® Capability Maturity Model, Carnegie Mellon, CMM and CMMI are registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office by Carnegie Mellon University.