ITSqc Logo
| site map | contact us | English Français Español Português Italiana Deutsch Nederlands

eSourcing Capability Model for Service Providers (eSCM-SP)

« back
Elaine Hyder, Mark Paulk, Keith Heston, Bill Hefley
Model | Book
ITSqc Series - VanHaren Publishing

eSCM-SP Book Cover
Organizations are increasingly delegating their information technology (IT) intensive business activities to external service providers to take advantage of the rapid evolution of the global telecommunications infrastructure. The business processes being outsourced range from routine and non-critical tasks, which are resource intensive and operational, to strategic processes that directly impact revenues. Managing and meeting client expectations is a major challenge in sourcing of IT-enabled services, and examples of failure abound.

The eSourcing Capability Model for Service Providers (eSCM-SP) is a “best practices” capability model with three purposes: (1) to give service providers guidance that will help them improve their capability across the sourcing life-cycle, (2) to provide clients with an objective means of evaluating the capability of service providers, and (3) to offer service providers a standard to use when differentiating themselves from competitors.

The eSourcing Capability Models were originally developed at Carnegie Mellon University. In November 2001 the eSCM-SP v1.0 was released. After significant evaluation and revision, the eSCM for Service Providers (eSCM‑SP) v1.1 was released in October 2002. The current version, the eSCM-SP v2, is composed of 84 Practices that address the critical capabilities needed by IT-enabled service providers. This document provides valuable information about the eSCM-SP, its implementation, and methods to evaluate and certify service providers.

The eSourcing Capability Model for Service Providers (eSCM-SP) is a “best practices” capability model developed to give IT-enabled sourcing service providers guidance toward improving their capability across the sourcing life-cycle. This helps service providers differentiate themselves from competitors. Additionally, it provides clients with an objective means of evaluating service providers’ capabilities. It is comprised of 84 Practices that address the critical capabilities needed by IT-enabled sourcing service providers. This document contains the details of the 84 eSCM-SP Practices. Each Practice is arranged along three dimensions: Sourcing Life-cycle, Capability Area, and Capability Level. The Sourcing Life-cycle is divided into Initiation, Delivery, and Completion, plus Ongoing, which spans the entire life-cycle. The ten Capability Areas are logical groupings of Practices that help users to remember and intellectually manage the content of the Model. The five Levels, numbered 1 through 5, describe an improvement path that progresses from a limited capability to deliver a service that meets a client’s particular requirements up to the highest level of sustaining excellence over time.
Step 1 Please tell us about yourself and join our mailing list (Optional)
sign up (opens in a new window)
Step 2 »  Order ‘eSCM-SP’ now

ITSqc Series

ITSqc, LLC   VanHaren Publishing   IAOP

The ITSqc Series, in association with IAOP, is published globally to document the eSourcing Capability Models and their impacts in IT services and IT-enabled services. The ITSqc Series is
edited by Dr. Bill Hefley and published by
Van Haren Publishing.

USA ITSqc Series - Van Haren US site

Global ITSqc Series - Van Haren International site

Sample Chapter

Read a chapter. Or the Introduction, or Forewords, or Table of Contents.

This excerpt provides you with insight into the eSCM-SP.

get details

Change Request

Input from industry and government participants is vital to the improvement of the Models. To provide feedback or suggest changes to any of our publications, please use the Change Request form.

» submit a change request