ITSqc Logo
| site map | contact us | English Français Español Português Italiana Deutsch Nederlands

The eSourcing Capability Model
for Service Providers (eSCM-SP) v2

» Overview
» Development
» Comparisons
» Documents
The Service Quality Model for eSourcing
The eSourcing Capability Model for Service Providers (eSCM-SP) helps sourcing organizations manage and reduce their risks and improve their capabilities across the entire sourcing life-cycle. The Model's Practices can be thought of as the best practices associated with successful sourcing relationships. It addresses the critical issues related to IT-enabled sourcing (eSourcing) for both outsourced and in-sourced (shared services) agreements.

Service providers use the eSCM-SP and its accompanying Capability Determination methods to evaluate their eSourcing capabilities, and to become eSCM-SP certified. This status provides an advantage over their competitors.

The eSCM-SP has been designed to complement existing quality models so that service providers can capitalize on their previous improvement efforts. A series of documents comparing the eSCM-SP with other models and standards has been developed.

Each of the Model's 84 Practices is distributed along three dimensions: Sourcing Life-cycle, Capability Area, and Capability Level.

Most quality models focus only on design and delivery capabilities, but the eSCM-SP's Sourcing Life-cycle includes not only delivery, but also Initiation and Completion of the contract. The two phases are often the ones most critical to successful sourcing relationships. The Sourcing Life-cycle also includes Overall Practices.

Capability Areas provide logical groupings of Practices to help users better remember and intellectually manage the content of the Model. Service providers can then build or demonstrate capabilities in a particular critical-sourcing function. The ten Capability Areas are Knowledge Management, People Management, Performance Management, Relationship Management, Technology Management, Threat Management, Service Transfer, Contracting, Service Design & Deployment, and Service Delivery.

The five eSCM-SP Capability Levels indicate the level of an organization's capability. Level 1 indicates that the organization is providing a service. A Level 2 organization has procedures in place to enable it to consistently meet its clients' requirements. At Level 3, an organization is able to manage its performance consistently across engagements. Level 4 requires that an organization is able to add value to its services through innovation. Service providers at Level 5 have proven that they can sustain excellence over a period of at least two years.

ITSqc Series

ITSqc, LLC   VanHaren Publishing   IAOP

The eSourcing Capability Model for Service Providers (eSCM-SP) is published globally as a part of the ITSqc Series, in association with IAOP. The ITSqc Series is edited by Dr. Bill Hefley and published by Van Haren Publishing.

» get details

Change Request

Input from industry and government participants is vital to the improvement of the Models. To provide feedback or suggest changes to any of our publications, please use the Change Request form.

» submit a change request